COFLA Literacy Award

On January 21st, 2013, LASS was presented with the Council of the Federation Literacy Award by Minister George Abbott.

The award recognizes the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. Premiers created the award in 2004 to recognize the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians’ ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society. Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion. The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation by fostering a constructive relationship among the provinces and territories, and with the federal government.